Is All Tea Gluten-Free?
Surprising Sources of Gluten
To some, it might seem obvious that tea wouldn’t be susceptible to gluten contamination, after all, it isn’t a grain, rye, malt, or barley. But, for those affected by celiac disease, it can be frustrating to find that gluten can make its way into teas in a variety of surprising ways. To address this growing concern, in 2014, our products were Certified Gluten-Free by the Gluten Intolerance Group (GIG), ensuring that with a quick glance, tea lovers can be certain our products do not contain gluten.
While true tea, camelia sinensis, is naturally gluten-free, once manufacturers begin packing teas into tea bags or loose leaf, ingredients derived from gluten sources can be introduced. For example, sweeteners, flavorings, or even wheat paste can be used to seal tea bags.
As the manufacturer, we oversee all aspects of our facility to assure the highest quality and compliance with our third-party certifications. Annual audits are required to guarantee our plant is operating within the certifier’s strict guidelines. To receive Gluten-Free certification, our production, ingredients, records, and finished products are inspected and verified yearly by the Gluten-Free Certification Organization (GFCO), a program of GIG. Further measures for food safety, such as the FDA regulated Hazard Analysis Critical Control Point (HACCP), are implemented as checkpoints designed to address food safety from production to consumption, including the cross-contamination of common allergens like gluten.
May is Celiac Disease Awareness Month, dedicated to bringing attention to the estimated three million people in the US alone affected by celiac disease, most undiagnosed.
Gluten sensitive tea drinkers can rest easy shopping our entire collection of teas and raise a cup to carefully crafted, celiac-friendly tea.